Class Notes

Mike Aronson (PHYS ’64), Corvallis, Ore., was presented the Majestic Volunteer Lifetime award in recognition of his contributions to Corvallis’s Majestic Theater in 2022.

Lewis Thigpen (M.S. MECH ’67, Ph.D. ’70), Alexandria, Va., received the Howard University 2023 Alumni Award for Distinguished Postgraduate Achievement.

Jason Chang (M.S. IE ’69), Taipei, Taiwan, chairman and CEO of ASE Technology Holding Co Ltd., was awarded an honorary doctorate by National Cheng Kung University in Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Michael J. Berger (LAW ’73), Highland Park, Ill., a family law attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2005–2023.

Eldon Ham (LAW ’76), Glencoe, Ill., published an article on April 24, 2023, in the Chicago Sun-Times titled, “How William Wrigley Jr. Brought Soap, Gum and Chicago Baseball Broadcasting Together.” 

Ralph E. Meczyk (LAW ’77), Northbrook, Ill., a white collar crimes attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2015–2023.

Steven Glickman (ARCH ’78), Bethlehem, Pa., was elected chairperson to the Lehigh Valley Planning Commission and celebrated the 22nd year at his firm, Steven Glickman Architect.

Jeffery M. Leving (LAW ’79), Chicago, received the President Joe Biden 2023 Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award, along with a proclamation from the Illinois Senate, to recognize his advocacy for fathers.

Michael M. Marick (LAW ’82), Chicago, an insurance coverage attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2005–2023.

Pat Morris (LAW ’83), Kenilworth, Ill., was recognized in December 2022 as an advocate for diversity at the Diversity Scholarship Foundation’s 2022 Unity Awards Gala.

Stan Schachne (ARCH ’83), Davie, Fla., was presented with the 2022 Community Service Award from the Fort Lauderdale, Fla., chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Bob P. Theel, (ARCH ’83), Chicago, has joined EXP, a global architecture, engineering, and design firm, as vice president of federal design strategy.

Paul Krystosek (Ph.D. CS ’86), Murrysville, Pa., has retired.

Isaac K. Gamwo (M.A.S. CHE ’87, Ph.D. ’92), Murrysville, Pa., recently led the equation of state research group as part of his work as a senior research chemical engineer in the United States Department of Energy’s National Energy Technology Laboratory in Pittsburgh.

Cynthia “C.J.” Warner (BA ’87), Nevada, Iowa, has been appointed to the Board of Directors for Bloom Energy.

John W. Watson (LAW ’88), Lincolnshire, Ill., an environmental attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2012–2024.

Michael Bertucci (LAW ’17), Chicago, was installed as treasurer of the Justinian Society of Lawyers in September 2022.

Michael J. Choate (LAW ’89), Glenview, Ill., a securities and corporate attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2018–2023.

Richard Nicolaides Jr. (LAW ’91), Winnetka, Ill., an insurance coverage attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2009–2023.

Raj Rajaram (LAW ’91), Oakbrook, Ill., authored Climate Change and Environment: How it Impacts Us All with co-authors Lynn Tiede and Keith Olson. The book was published in 2022 by Notion Press.

Matt Walsh (LAW ’92), Indian Head Park, Ill., was recently elected to a two-year term on the Chicago Bar Association’s Board of Managers and was the co-chair of the CBA’s 2022 Pro Bono Week.

Anurag Gupta (M.B.A. MKTG ’94), Weston, Fla., was recently appointed to the Board of Governors at Nova Southeastern University.

Stacey Feeley Cavanagh (LAW ’95), Chicago, has earned a Top 100 Trial Lawyer designation from the National Trial Lawyers since 2012 in honor of her outstanding professionalism and success.

Tor Hoerman (LAW ’95),Edwardsville, Ill., a products liability attorney, has been selected as a 2023 Top 100 Illinois Super Lawyer, and has received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2012–2023.

Jon Atwood (CHE ’96), West Linn, Ore., has joined Trillium Engineering as chief executive officer.

Scott Fisher (LAW ’96), Chicago, partner at Neal, Gerber, & Eisenberg, was featured in Crain’s Chicago Business Magazine’s 2023 Notable Litigators and Trial Attorneys in March 2023.

Jill Webb (LAW ’96), Chicago, has been named a 2023 Top 100 Illinois Super Lawyer and a 2023 Top 50 Women Illinois Super Lawyer. 

Ray Schrock (LAW ’98), Rye, N.Y., was recognized and profiled by Business Insider as a top restructuring attorney in August 2022. 

Surendra Byna (M.S. CS ’01, Ph.D. ’06), Powell, Ohio, joined the computer science and engineering department at The Ohio State University as a full professor in spring 2023.

Michael J. Delrahim (LAW ’02), Chicago, a real estate attorney, received the Super Lawyer distinction as a “top-rated attorney” from 2022–2023.

Zuyi Li (Ph.D. EE ’02), Naperville, Ill., a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology, was appointed as the Grainger Chair in Electrical and Power Engineering.

Jalesh Kalra (M.S. CHE ’05), Naperville, Ill., published an article on the blog Albemarle about the importance of bromine in 2023.

Tonya G. Newman (LAW ’05), Chicago, was featured in March 2023 in Crain’s Chicago Business Magazine’s annual listing of notable litigators and trial attorneys.

Julie Chandler (CE ’07, M.E. ARCE ’16), Aurora, Ill., joined Resource Innovations as an energy engineer IV. She performs energy engineering services for utility and end-use commercial and industrial clients.

Margaret Battersby Black (LAW ’08), Elmhurst, Ill., was named managing partner of the law firm Levin & Perconti in Chicago.

Emily Kunkel (CHE ’11), Chicago, has been appointed vice president at Thornton Tomasetti, an applied science practice, to help grow its decarbonization business.

Matt Buenconsejo (M.A.S. FST ’15), Deerfield, Ill., accepted a position at the United States Food and Drug Administration as a food specialist.

Ryan Z. Cummings (CE ’15), Chicago, married Peggy Flemming in July 2023. 

Ryan Z. Cummings (CE ’15), Chicago, married Peggy Flemming in July 2023
Ryan Cummings’ wedding celebration included many alumni happily in attendance. [From left] Austin Bradshaw, Melissa Hoelting (ARCH ’15), Kari Winiecki, Cory Winiecki (AANL ’17), Bob Hoel (BE ’70), Nancy Hoel, Price Vetter (ME ’11), Amy Vetter, Sarah Palmer (BME ’19), Calvin Demski (ME ’19), Holly Pepper, Stephen Pepper (BA ’15), Ryan Cummings (CE ’15), Margaret Cummings, Robert Patten, Sean Hahn (CE ’17 M.E. STE ’17), Layla Riadi, Ramzi Riadi (EMGT ’15), Martyn Lyn, Hans Griese (ARCH ’15), Caitlin Griese, and Paulo Moretto Kodaira (MSE ’20, EMGT ’20).
Photography credit: The Adamkovi.

Hans Johnson (M.S. EE ’21), Minnetrista, Minn., was awarded a United States Department of Energy fellowship working in quantum computing at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory.

Meredith Ludlam (ARCH ’21), Omaha, Neb., has joined CPL as an architectural designer in Pittsburgh.