Orville Klima
ME ’34
Whitewater, Wis.

Bernard Wolfe
LAW ’37
Northbrook, Ill.

Earl Sherman
ME ’43
Encino, Calif.

Richard Vander Mey
ME ’43
Bolingbrook, Ill.

Kenneth Sanders
ME ’44
Campbell, Calif.

Carl Sundeen
ME ’44
Minnetonka, Minn.

Charles Soderquist
ME ’45
Black Canyon City, Ariz.

Arthur Uhlir
CHE ’45, M.S. CHE ’48
Weston, Mass.

Lloyd Giegel
EE ’47
New Bern, N.C.

Donald Billman
ARCH ’48

Harry Jennings
LAW ’49
Valparaiso, Ind.

Wayne Johnson
ME ’50
Allentown, Penn.

Robert Meckstroth
EE ’50
Kettering, Ohio

Andrew Affrunti
ME ’51
Springfield, Ill.

Edwin Alpaugh
CHE ’51
St. Louis

Ted Colvin
ME ’51
Morton, Ill.

John Crandall
FPE ’51
Dyer, Ind.

Charles Goff
IE ’51
Clearwater, Fla.

Roger Krafft
FPE ’51
Colorado Springs, Colo.

Gerald Kroneberger
CHE ’51
Livermore, Calif.

Robert Lunsford
LAW ’51
The Villages, Fla.

Joseph Lutz
ME ’51, IE ’58
Barrington, Ill.

Marvin Mellbom
CE ’51
Sebring, Fla.

Adrian Morrison
CE ’51
Tustin, Calif.

Walter Zapfel
CE ’51
Scottsdale, Ariz.

Charles Achinakian
ME ’52, IE ’54
Waxahachie, Texas

Robert Ames
ARCH ’52

Paul Field
EE ’52
Albuquerque, N.M.

Kenneth Fuglestad
EE ’52
Martinsville, Ind.

Walter Weaver
CE ’52
Glenview, Ill.

Miguel Xavier
M.S. EE ’52, Ph.D. ’58

Marvin Ackerman
EE ’53
Sunnyvale, Calif.

George Cowan
CHE ’53
Bettendorf, Iowa

Donald Drury
ENGL ’53
Columbus, Ohio

Irving Gottesman
PSYC ’53
Edina, Minn.

Fred Hardtke
CHEM ’53
Rolla, Mo.

Donald Stoltenberg
Photo: Courtesy of David Zeni

Donald Stoltenberg (DSGN ’53), Brewster, Mass., was internationally known for his marine oil and watercolor work done in quasi-cubist style. He also pioneered the printmaking technique known as collagraphy, teaching courses on the subject and writing two books. Stoltenberg’s works are displayed in public collections at Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Portland Museum of Art, and many other institutions.

David Sullivan
FPE ’53
Albuquerque, N.M.

Gerard Zichterman
EE ’53
Sunnyvale, Calif.

Hugh Boland
ME ’54

Gertrude Kerbis
Photo: Chris De Ford

Gertrude Kerbis (née Lempp) (M.S. ARCH ’54), Chicago, was a Modernist architect who established the firm Lempp Kerbis in 1967. Among the structures she designed was the rotunda building at O’Hare International Airport. In 2008 Kerbis, a fellow of the American Institute of Architects, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Chicago Chapter. She was the first woman and only the third individual to attain the honor. A memorial service was held for Kerbis at S. R. Crown Hall on August 23.

Robert Kissinger
ARCH ’54
Clarksville, Ind.

Frank Novak
CE ’55
Thornton, Colo.

William Panko
ME ’55
Naples, Fla.

Janet Sullivan
M.S. DSGN ’55
Valparaiso, Ind.

Kenneth Weberg
EE ’55
Willmar, Minn.

James Erickson
CHE ’56

Daniel Van Dorpe
CE ’56
Tustin, Calif.

Edward Bell
BE ’57
Costa Mesa, Calif.

William Torgerson
BE ’57
Valencia, Calif.

Raymond Gold
Ph.D. PHYS ’58
Palo Alto, Calif.

Albert Eski
FPE ’59
Ashtabula, Ohio

Carl Jarsonbeck
BE ’59
Riverview, Fla.

Alan Reinberg
M.S. PHYS ’59, Ph.D. ’61
Washington, D.C.

Don Brillhart
MET ’60, Ph.D. ’65
Calumet, Mich.

Philip Brust
ME ’60
Cornelius, N.C.

George Friese
LAW ’60
New Castle, N.H.

Robert Hammond
EE ’60
Bristol, Va.

Delphine Sullivan
M.S. DSGN ’60

Daniel Sheppel
ME ’60
La Grange, Ill.

Natalie Linden (née Govedarica)
IE ’61, M.S. CS ’96
Washington, D.C.

Leonard Lundy
EE ’61, M.B.A. ’73
Geneva, Ill.

Olgerts Puris
EE ’61
Portland, Ore.

William Kaulfuss (M.S. DSGN 62), Two Rivers, Wis., taught Fundamentals of Design at the Institute of Design and was selected as one of the “Chicago 27 Designers,” a group dedicated to promoting the work of illustrators, typographers, photographers, and designers to design buyers (1936–1991). Kaulfuss lived and worked as a designer in Chicago for more than four decades. He and his twin brother, Rob, designed many innovative products, including packaging concepts for the former United States Information Agency.

Vincent M. Story
Ph.D. CHEM ’62
Brevard, N.C.

Henry Tobin
M.S. EE ’62
Sierra Madre, Calif.

Robert Bernero
CE ’63
Gaithersburg, Md.

Norman Breyer
Ph.D. MET ’63
Deerfield, Ill.

Robert Glasing
EE ’63
Palm Coast, Fla.

Philip Haag
FPE ’63
Mountain View, Calif.

Warren Hamel
M.S. MT ’63
San Francisco

Leonard Tokus
LAW ’63

William Benton
M.S. IE ’64
Longboat Key, Fla.

Carl Springer
EE ’64
Rockton, Ill.

Robert Buras
EE ’66
Austin, Texas

James Fitzgerald
MATH ’66, M.S. MT ’68
Crest Hill, Ill.

John Fortunski
CE ’66
Hamilton, Ohio

Richard Hanus
MATH ’66
Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Leo Hietpas
M.S. MT ’66
Green Bay, Wis.

Charles Kindregan
LAW ’66

Wayne Leland
EE ’66
Venice, Fla.

Robert Benkowski
ME ’67
Columbus, Ohio

George Edwards
LAW ’67
Edwardsville, Ill.

David Kaput
IE ’67

Arnold Merbitz
M.S. SOCT ’67
Eureka Springs, Ark.

Carmin Scotti
M.S. IE ’67
Fairfield, Conn.

Bradford Burke
LAW ’68
Portland, Ore.

Carla Romeike
M.S. DSGN ’68
Bradenton, Fla.

Jack Willer
DSGN ’68
Kansas City, Mo.

Werner Koczian
M.B.A. ’69
Georgetown, Texas

Masashi Matsushima
MAE ’69

Danae Voutiritsas
M.S. DSGN ’69
Palatine, Ill.

Martin Ginn
M.B.A. ’71
Stockton, Calif.

Eric Norland
CHE ’71
Bridgewater, N.J.

Alan Scarnavack
LAW ’72

Richard Hardy
CHEM ’74
Huntingdon Valley, Penn.

Richard D'Ambrosia
CE ’77, M.S. CE ’81
Marengo, Ill.

William Schmidt
MAE ’77
Arlington Heights, Ill.

Robert Moore
EE ’78
Southport, N.C.

James Beard
LAW ’80

Richard Karr
LAW ’80
Northbrook, Ill.

Thomas Puralewski
CE ’83
Elkhorn, Wis.

Lawrence Becker
M.A.S. CHE ’85, M.B.A. ’93
Friendswood, Texas

Daniel Rieken
LAW ’87
Washington, D.C.

Letitia Cook (née Mitchell)
BA ’91, M.B.A. ’99
Irmo, S.C.

Thomas Verachtert
M.A.S. CHE ’98
Palatine, Ill.

Michael Purdy
JTSB ’14
Lansing, Mich.







Kenneth Isaacs
Photo: Courtesy of IIT Archives

Kenneth Isaacs, Institute of Design Visiting Lecturer, Granger, Ind., was an innovative architect and designer who gained worldwide attention and celebrity in 1962 with his design of the “Knowledge Box,” a multimedia immersion chamber he constructed in S. R. Crown Hall. Isaacs pioneered the “tiny house” movement with his radical design of the “Microhouse” and other unconventional structures.

Trustee Emeritus

Theodore E. Hanson

Theodore E. Hanson, Northbrook, Ill., had a successful career with KPMG LLP that spanned four decades. After retiring in 1996 he established Ted Hanson Consulting. He was elected to the Illinois Institute of Technology Board of Trustees in 1981 and in 1989 became a member of the IITRI Board of Governors and Audit Committee. Hanson served as an Illinois Tech Life Trustee from 2001–2013 and was then named Trustee Emeritus. In 2005 he established the Theodore E. Hanson Stuart School of Business Fellowships Endowment.


Everett Anderson
Hanover Park, Ill.

Vincent Beck
Edwardsville, Ill.

Harry Cook
Sebastopol, Calif.

Charles Dowd
San Diego

Robert Enroth
Steger, Ill.

Eustis Porter
Harrisonburg, Va.

Joe Tafolla
San Jose, Calif.