Recognizing Dedicated Philanthropy Leader

Elizabeth J. “Betsy” Hughes

Illinois Tech thanks Elizabeth J. “Betsy” Hughes, vice president for institutional advancement, for her longtime service to the university. At Illinois Tech for a combined 25 years—first in the development office at the Institute of Design, and then joining Institutional Advancement—Hughes has worked with three presidents: Lew Collens, John Anderson, and Alan Cramb. Her career highlights include reviving the Illinois Tech Hall of Fame, creating the Mies van der Rohe Society and the Philip Danforth Armour Society, and Fueling Innovation: The Campaign for IIT, which surpassed its $250 million goal. In 2017 Hughes was honored with the Benjamin Franklin Award from the Association of Fundraising Professionals Chicago Chapter. Hughes will be joining the United Way of Metro Chicago as senior vice president and chief development officer.