2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

Alan W. Cramb, Illinois Tech president, and Michael P. Galvin
[Left to right] Alan W. Cramb, Illinois Tech president, and Michael P. Galvin (LAW ’78), chair of the Illinois Tech Board of Trustees, served as Hall of Fame masters of ceremony.
Marc Goldsmith
Marc Goldsmith accepted the Hall of Fame award on behalf of his late father, Myron Goldsmith (B.ARCH. ’39, M.S. ’53). Also in attendance to honor Myron was his wife, Robin, and their daughter, Chandra Goldsmith Gray.
Mantvydas Bekesius
Mantvydas Bekesius, consulate general of the Republic of Lithuania in Chicago, spoke on behalf of honoree Valdas V. Adamkus (CE ’61), former president of Lithuania.
Martin C. Jischke
Honoree Martin C. Jischke (PHYS ’63), shares some of his university memories with the audience.
Martin Y. Tsao
Honoree Victor Y. Tsao (M.S. CS ’80) addresses the audience at his induction into Illinois Tech's Hall of Fame.


lumni representing architecture, computer science, engineering, physics, and psychology were feted at the 2019 Illinois Institute of Technology Hall of Fame Ceremony, held February 19 at the Four Seasons Hotel Chicago.

“Induction into the Illinois Institute of Technology Hall of Fame places our honorees among those select individuals whose accomplishments and unwavering pursuit of excellence inspire us all to welcome new challenges, explore the road less traveled, and give even more of ourselves,” Michael P. Galvin (LAW ’78), chairman of the Board of Trustees told the audience. “Our Hall of Fame induction ceremony renews our realization that Illinois Tech’s future is filled with discovery, innovation, promise, and success.”

Guests heard biographies about three deceased alumni who were inducted into the Hall of Fame by President Alan W. Cramb during the 2018 Alumni Awards: Robert “Pete” H. Bragg Jr. (PHYS ’49, M.S. ’51, Ph.D. ’60), Frank A. Crossley (CHE ’45, M.S. MET ’47, Ph.D. MET ’50), and Vice Admiral Diego E. Hernandez, Retired (PSYC ’55). Four additional members were inducted that evening: Valdas V. Adamkus (CE ’61, Hon. Ph.D. ’99), Myron Goldsmith (B.ARCH. ’39, M.S. ’53), Martin C. Jischke (PHYS ’63), and Victor Y. Tsao (M.S. CS ’80).