IIT Worldwide Alumni Chapters, Clubs, and Networks

IIT Chicagoland Alumni Chapter leaders
IIT Chicagoland Alumni Chapter leaders: [seated, left to right] Bob Hoel (BE ’70), Lucy Hynes (EE ’88), Natalie Hammer (EE ’09, M.A.S. PWR ’14), Ann Trandai (EE ’89, M.S. ’93), and Steve Nargang (ME ’96); [standing, left to right] Joe Krause (EE ’77), Joe Koblich (BA ’88), Bill Lam (ME ’82, M.B.A. ’88), Bruce Meier (MATH ’76), Gerald Goodlow (EE ’82), and Raj Rajaram (LAW ’91).

Steve Nargang (ME ’96), chair of the new IIT Chicagoland Alumni Chapter, shares information about the group’s debut year:

With more than 30 events, 25 volunteer leaders, and several signature events under our belt, the IIT Chicagoland Alumni Chapter had a very successful first year. The year 2014 was just the beginning; we are looking forward to continued growth in the coming years by reconnecting even more alumni.

How did we host 30 events? A key to our success has been the growth of the volunteer leadership team and multiple social events in each branch to generate interest and momentum. The chapter is structured with a central team of officers and five branches covering the city and four suburban areas [see map]. Consider joining the team in your area [see contact list below].

Highlights from the year include a tour of Argonne National Laboratory and a panel discussion on innovation at Calamos Investments. The focus of 2015 will be a blend of social and networking events, more professional development speakers, and “behind the scenes” tours. Be on the lookout for exciting tours, career opportunities, and networking events.

If you would like to participate in a committee, host an event at your business, or simply help reach out to classmates, please contact a branch director, visit alumni.iit.edu, or reach out to me personally for more information.

Thank you to all our committee members for your commitment to the chapter and to all the event attendees. We hope to see all of you—Chicago-area alumni—at an upcoming chapter event.

IIT Chicagoland Alumni Chapter

Chapter Officers
Chair: Steve Nargang (ME ’96)—snargang@hawk.iit.edu
Vice Chair: Lucy Hynes (EE ’88)
Chapter Secretary: Natalie Hammer (EE ’09, M.A.S. PWR ’14)

City of Chicago Branch
Branch Director: Charles Horn (MGT ’82)—chorn@hawk.iit.edu
Assistant Director: Wendy Wu (M.B.A. ’09)

North Suburban Branch
Branch Director: Ann Trandai (EE ’89, M.S. ’93)—trandairealty@gmail.com
Assistant Director: Brett Champlin (M.B.A. ’90)

Northwest Suburban Branch
Branch Director: Bruce Meier (MATH ’76)—brucemeier5540@gmail.com
Assistant Director: Dave Kamath (M.S. IE ’73)
Assistant Director: Luke Dykstra (CPE ’00, M.S. CS ’01)

West Suburban Branch
Branch Director: Bill Lam (ME ’82, M.B.A. ’88)—wlam@hawk.iit.edu
Assistant Director: Joe Koblich (BA ’88)

South Suburban Branch
Branch Director: Jerry Wilks (MET ’72, M.A.S. MET ’82, M.A.S. CHE ’05)—gwilks@citgo.com
Assistant Director: Marlene Lojas (CHE ’91)

U.S. Chapters

Volunteers who enjoy connecting IIT graduates to their alma mater manage each IIT chapter. Domestic chapters and their leaders are:

Bay Area: Heidi Rank (ARCH ’81)

Chicago: Steve Nargang (ME ’96)

Southern California: Benny Jones (MATH ’94)

New York City: Michael Siem (CHE ’96)

Phoenix: Peter Koliopoulos (ARCH ’86)

San Diego: Crystal Sargent (M.S. MCOM ’02)

Seattle: Mike Wayte (ME ’61)

Washington, D.C.: Randy Sullivan (ES ’74)

Alumni networks and activities are underway in Austin, Texas, headed by Arun Prakash (AE ’99, prakaru@gmail.com) and in Minneapolis by Harley Feldman (CHEM ’69, harleyfeldman@gmail.com).

The IIT alumni community is expanding to include chapters in Houston and Dallas, and is coordinating annual activities in Atlanta, Boston, and Denver. If you live in any of these areas and want to get involved, contact the chapter chair or email the Office of Alumni Relations at alumni@iit.edu.

Global Chapters

China: General Secretary Jennifer Meng Xia (M.P.A. ’07)

Hong Kong: Victor Lo (DSGN ’73)

India: Thiruvengadam Ashok (M.S. CS ’01)

Japan: Tetsuyuki Hirano

Korea: Jongsub Moon

Taiwan: Steve Chun Pan (M.S. IE ’77, Ph.D. MSC ’88)

Thailand: Paiboon Pongchairerks (M.S. IE ’75)