Illinois Institute of Technology welcomed four new deans to the university this past summer: 

Jamshid Mohammadi

Jamshid Mohammadi was named dean of the Graduate College and vice provost for graduate academic affairs. With Illinois Tech for more than four decades, he served as associate dean of the Graduate College and professor of civil and architectural engineering. For 14 years Mohammadi was the chair of the Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering. During his tenure, he was successful in receiving Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology accreditation for the first time for the architectural engineering program. 

Reed Kroloff

Renowned architecture educator, consultant, and commentator Reed Kroloff joined the university as the Rowe Family College of Architecture Dean Endowed Chair. He has more than 30 years of professional experience as an architectural educator and academic leader, which includes being dean of architecture at Tulane University School of Architecture and director of the Cranbrook Academy of Art and Art Museum. Kroloff is a principal at jones|kroloff, a design consultancy that helps clients envision their projects and select their designers. He previously served as editor-in-chief of Architecture (now ARCHITECT) magazine.

Anita K. Krug

Anita K. Krug was selected as dean of Chicago-Kent College of Law and is the first woman to hold the office permanently in the school’s history. She was most recently the D. Wayne and Anne Gittinger Professor of Law at the University of Washington School of Law and held a variety of positions in the University of Washington system, including interim dean at the School of Law and interim vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Washington Bothell. Her academic research has focused primarily on securities regulation and the regulatory environment surrounding investment advisers, public and private investment funds, and other financial institutions.

Lance Fortnow

Lance Fortnow, former professor and chair of the School of Computer Science in the College of Computing at Georgia Institute of Technology, was named dean of the College of Science. His research at Georgia Tech focused on computational complexity and its applications, most recently in the field of micro-economic theory. Prior to Georgia Tech, Fortnow was a professor at Northwestern University and at the University of Chicago. His work on interactive proof systems and time-space lower bounds for satisfiability led to his election as an Association for Computing Machinery Fellow in 2007. He served as a National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellow from 1992–98.